Skip to main content

Chase County Board of County Commissioners records

Call Number: RH MS E82


Journals recording the activities of the Board of County Commissioners, Chase County, Kansas. Includes two original volumes and one photocopy of an original journal.


  • Creation: January 7, 1867 to September 3, 1872


Conditions Governing Access

No access restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Spencer Library staff may determine use restrictions dependent on the physical condition of manuscript materials.

History of Chase County, Kansas

In 1859, Kansas Territorial Governor Samuel J. Crawford appointed a Board of Supervisors, composed of J.M. McPherson, Sideny A. Breese, and Frank Leonard, to organize Chase County in the territory. Named for Salmon P. Chase, Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court, Chase County was carved out of territory in Wise (later Morris) and Butler Counties in east-central Kansas. The Board of Supervisors first met on March 15, 1859 to initiate the organization of the county. At that meeting, Charles S. Hills was elected clerk. Cities in Chase County include the county seat, Cottonwood Falls, as well as Cedar Point, Elmdale, Matfield Green, and Strong City.


3 Volumes (3 volumes + 2 folders)

Language of Materials


Physical Location


Physical Location

RH MS P263

Physical Location

RH MS E156

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Gift, Chase County Board of Commissioners via Karl Masoner, County Attorney, 1971.

Separated Materials

See also Chase County, County Superintendent of Public Instruction records, located at RH MS E83 at Spencer Research Library; and Chase County Register of Deeds receiving index, located at RH MS E157 at Spencer Research Library.

Guide to the Chase County Board of County Commissioners Collection
Chase County Board of County Commissioners records
Finding aid prepared by lgg, 1975. Finding aid encoded by mg, 2004. Finding aid revised by mwh, 2020, 2021.
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Finding aid written in English.
Finding aid permalink
Preferred citation
Chase County Board of County Commissioners journal, RH MS E82, Kenneth Spencer Research Library, University of Kansas

Repository Details

Part of the University of Kansas. Kenneth Spencer Research Library Repository

1450 Poplar Lane
Lawrence KS 66045-7616 United States