Skip to main content

Last Cherokee Nation Council photographs

Call Number: RH PH 20


The Cherokee Nation Council was established as the lower house of the legislature by the 1839 constitution of the Cherokee Nation. Its membership was composed of three representatives from each of the eight districts of the nation. The last council meeting with the power to make laws for the tribe and held in Talequah, territorial government that was formed by the Organic Act of 1890 which established the jurisdiction of the United States over the Indian Territory. The collection consists of portraits of the members of the last Cherokee Nation Council meeting in 1889. The photographs were donated by Mrs. Moffett Bell Phillips, a niece of Frank Mayo Morgan, who was a member of the last Cherokee Nation Council.


  • Creation: approximately 1889

Conditions Governing Access

No access restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Spencer Library staff may determine use restrictions dependent on the physical condition of manuscript materials.


.35 Linear Feet (39 photographs in 1 box)

Language of Materials


Physical Location

RH PH 20

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Gift, Mrs. Moffett Bell Phillips, 1953

Guide to the Last Cherokee Nation Council Collection
Last Cherokee Nation Council photographs
Finding aid prepared by lgg, 1973. Finding aid encoded by rw, 2008. Finding aid revised by mwh, 2021.
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Finding aid written in English.
Finding aid permalink
Preferred citation
Last Cherokee Nation Council Collection, RH PH 20, Kenneth Spencer Research Library, University of Kansas

Repository Details

Part of the University of Kansas. Kenneth Spencer Research Library Repository

1450 Poplar Lane
Lawrence KS 66045-7616 United States