Skip to main content

Mary Rosenblum papers

Call Number: MS 362


Papers of science fiction writer Mary Rosenblum (1952-2018), who also published mysteries under her birth name, Mary Freeman. The collection contains typescript drafts and proofs (frequently annotated), correspondence related to publications, reviews/publicity clippings, contracts, and periodicals containing contributions by Rosenblum/Freeman.


  • Creation: 1990 - 2008


Language of Materials

The collection is predominately in English; a couple published items are in other languages, including Russian, French, and Romanian.

Conditions Governing Access

No access restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Spencer Library staff may determine use restrictions dependent on the physical condition of manuscript materials.

Biography of Mary Rosenblum (1952-2018)

Mary Rosenblum was born on June 27, 1952 in Levittown, NY, and graduated from Reed College. She was a United States medical researcher and author who wrote science fiction and mystery novels. She published works under both Mary Rosenblum and her birth name, Mary Freeman.

Mary Rosenblum's first novel, The Drylands (1993), won the 1994 Compton Crook Award, given by the Baltimore Science Fiction Society for the best English-language first novel in the field of science fiction, fantasy, or horror. Her other volumes of science fiction include the novels Chimera (1993), The Stone Garden (1994), and Horizons (2006), and the collections Synthesis and Other Virtual Realities (1996) and Water Rites (2007). This last volume collects several works in the Drylands series, which explores unrest brought about by drought and climate change.

Rosenblum's short fiction appeared in Asimov's, The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, and other periodicals and anthologies. Rosenblum was a finalist for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for "One Good Juror" (1997), a story she co-authored with James Sarafin, and a finalist for the 1998 Tiptree Award (now known as the Otherwise Award) and a 2008 Nebula Award. She won the Sidewise Award for Alternate History for her 2008 novelette "Sacrifice."

Rosenblum's gardening mysteries, published under the name Mary Freeman, include the novels Devil's Trumpet (1999), Deadly Nightshade (1999), Bleeding Heart (2000), and Garden View (2002).

On March 11, 2018, Mary Rosenblum died after the small plane she was piloting crashed near La Center, Washington.


2 Linear Feet (2 boxes + 1 oversize box)


This collection is organized into three series: Series 1. Publications; Series 2. Publicity and awards; Series 3. Correspondence. Each series is arranged chronologically within an alphabetical order.

Physical Location

MS 362

Physical Location

MS Qa34

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Gift, Jake Rosenblum, 2018.

Separated Materials

Books and other publications have been individually cataloged and may be found in the University of Kansas' online library catalog by searching for the donor's name, Jake Rosenblum.

Guide to the Mary Rosenblum Collection
Mary Rosenblum papers
Finding aid prepared by lcb. Finding aid encoded by lcb.
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Finding aid written in English.
Finding aid permalink
Preferred citation
Mary Rosenblum papers, MS 362, Kenneth Spencer Research Library, University of Kansas

Repository Details

Part of the University of Kansas. Kenneth Spencer Research Library Repository

1450 Poplar Lane
Lawrence KS 66045-7616 United States