Skip to main content

Lorraine Co-Operative Oil Company records

Call Number: RH MS D307


This collection contains the meeting minutes of the board of directors of the Lorraine Co-Operative Oil Company, as well as some other administrative documentation of the company.


  • Creation: 1930 - 1948


Conditions Governing Access

No access restrictions.

Conditions Governing Use

Spencer Library staff may determine use restrictions dependent on the physical condition of manuscript materials.

History of the Lorraine Co-Operative Oil Company

The Lorraine Co-Operative Oil Company was organized May 16, 1930 in Lorraine, Ellsworth County, Kansas, for the purpose of buying and selling gasoline, kerosene, oil, and similar products in Lorraine and surrounding communities. Its original board of directors included Paul Peters (chair), Oscar Wilkens, V.H. Wagner, Louis B. Splitter, Charles J. Heitschmidt, Fred Mehl, and Ben Kruse. W.C. Janssen later replaced Wilkens on the board. The company contracted with E.H. Schroeder to manage the company's assets. By 1947 the board and its members decided to sell the company's assets and dissolve the company, which happened in 1948.


1 volume (1 volume + 1 folder) ; Volume measures 30 cm tall. Folder measures 22x37 cm.

Language of Materials


Physical Location

RH MS D307

Physical Location

RH MS P1005

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Gift, Bruce Janssen, 2016.

Guide to the Lorraine Co-Operative Oil Company Collection
Lorraine Co-Operative Oil Company records
Finding aid prepared by mwh. Finding aid encoded by mwh.
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Finding aid written in English.
Finding aid permalink
Preferred citation
Lorraine Co-Operative Oil Company records, RH MS D307, Kenneth Spencer Research Library, University of Kansas

Repository Details

Part of the University of Kansas. Kenneth Spencer Research Library Repository

1450 Poplar Lane
Lawrence KS 66045-7616 United States